The heritage-protected building of the former Royal Danish Embassy was built in the late 1930s by KaDeWe architect Johann Emil Schaudt. The luxury boutique hotel SO/ Berlin Das Stue is located in the middle of the embassy district – near the Landwehr Canal in direct proximity to the Berlin Zoo – and has an unobstructed view of the Tiergarten, the Zoo and Berlin’s western and eastern skyline.
In the historical part of the hotel, each floor has a special atmosphere; the decorations convey the long history of the building. Elegant original parquet floors, French doors, restored wooden inlays and the enormous brightness create a contrast to the immediately captivating, comfortable seating by Spanish designer Patricia Urquiola. Guests are encouraged to look around and pause. The result is a three-story library with a wide selection of Taschen Verlag books on topics such as art, architecture, creative contemporary culture and animals, as well as catalogs by Berlin artists and galleries.
The KaDeWe architect Johann Emil Schaudt (1874-1957) built the building in the years 1938-1940, and Schaudt was regarded by his contemporaries as one of the most important conservative architects in Germany. His numerous representative commercial buildings and the underground station Schöneberg were famous.
The Royal Danish Legation, designed in the style of Danish Classicism, is distinguished by its representative appearance. The round street-front recalls the commercial building architecture of the 1920s and 1930s. The symmetrical street facade is clad with shell limestone panels. The design of the entrance area of the building is unusual. Schaudt formed a large entrance hall covered with travertine and granite, which is flanked by lateral staircases. As early as 1907, Schaudt realized a closed facade grid and grey shell limestone walls at KaDeWe.